top of page

Fri, Sep 06

|

Cookeville

Author Event: Rachel Moore, with Mackenzie Reed

Two rockstar YA authors in one event? Yes! Plenty welcomes Rachel Moore with the release of her latest YA fantasy romance, alongside fellow YA author, the incredible Mackenzie Reed

Author Event: Rachel Moore, with Mackenzie Reed
Author Event: Rachel Moore, with Mackenzie Reed

Time & Location

Sep 06, 2024, 6:00 PM – 7:00 PM

Cookeville, 48 W Broad St, Cookeville, TN 38501, USA

Guests

About the event

We are really excited to welcome back Tennessee YA Author Rachel Moore as we celebrate the release of her NEW novel, Us In Ruins. Channeling "The Mummy" energy (the amazing 1999 film version) with its annoyances-to-lovers romance, high-stakes adventure through Italy, ancient curses to break, archeological sites and archives - we are so excited for this!   

We really loved Rachel's first novel, Library of Shadows, which released last year. Library of Shadows will also be released in paperback for the first time this week as well.  

Rachel will be in conversation with fellow YA author Mackenzie Reed, who published her debut novel, The Rosewood Hunt, earlier last fall. This is a YA mega-event, in other words. Fans of YA fantasy, historical fiction, mystery, romance- any or all of these genres, this is an author event not to miss!

ABOUT THE BOOKS:

Us In Ruins: Margot is on the quest to uncover and reassemble an ancient—and cursed—vase, with the help of a boy who went missing in 1932, because it's the only way to put back together her broken heart in this standalone adventure rom-com, perfect for fans of What the River Knows and The Lost City.

The mythical Vase of Venus Aurelia hasn’t been seen since 1932, but Margot Rhodes is determined to change that.

Drawn by the vase’s supposed magical properties, Margot embarks on her school’s archaeological trip to Pompeii. Sure, it’s her first time holding a shovel, but she’s got something no one else does: lost teenage explorer Van Keane’s journal.

Poring over the poetic entries that serve as a map to the vase’s missing shards, Margot finds herself falling in love with the boy who wrote it a century ago. She’s shocked when her search leads her to a statue that looks exactly like Van, and then the statue comes to life.

Catapulted into the present, Van is nothing like the wordsmith Margot imagined. He’s all sharp edges, intent on retrieving the relic for all the wrong reasons. But it takes two to survive Venus’s death-defying challenges, and, together, Margot and Van must excavate the treasure—and their buried pasts—before their story ends in ruins.

With a blend of humor, magic, and love, Rachel Moore crafts another standalone adventure rom-com full of double- and triple-crosses, hilarious shenanigans, and frustration-fueled banter, where the best treasure is true love.

The Rosewood Hunt: Irresistible intrigue, captivating suspense, a swoony friends-to-rivals-to-lovers romance, and heartbreaking betrayal drive this thrilling debut novel now in paperback that's perfect for fans of The Inheritance Games and Knives Out.

Lily Rosewood has lived with her grandmother since her dad’s death a year ago. She and Gram have always been close—Gram’s role as chair of their family’s luxury coat business has inspired Lily to love fashion, and Lily hopes to follow in Gram’s footsteps one day.

Then Gram dies suddenly, and Lily’s world is upended. Gram’s quarter of a billion dollar fortune is missing, and Lily has been banned from the manor she and Gram shared. But Gram has always loved games, and even in death, she still has a few tricks up her couture sleeve. When Lily and three other seemingly random teens get letters from Gram sending them on a treasure hunt around Rosetown, they hope the fortune will be the reward. But they’re not the only ones hunting for Gram’s treasure, and soon the hunt becomes more dangerous than they ever could have imagined.

ABOUT THE AUTHORS:

Rachel Moore is a content marketer and writer living in Nashville, Tennessee. She graduated from the University of Evansville with a degree in creative writing, and she has never met a rom-com she didn’t love. On the rare occasion she isn’t writing happy endings, you can find her collecting dictionaries, drinking entirely too much coffee, and drifting through library stacks.

Mackenzie Reed is the author of The Rosewood Hunt and The Wilde Trials. She cultivated her love of storytelling at Nazareth College, where she graduated with a BA in communication and media and shifted her focus from songwriting to novel writing. A native and resident of Rochester, New York, she loves going for brainstorming walks when the weather’s behaving and spending time with her family. In the sparse moments she’s not writing or daydreaming about her next book, she’s usually winging her eyeliner and hunting for the best slice of pizza in town.

Share this event

bottom of page