top of page

Tue, Jul 30

|

Plenty Downtown Bookshop

Author Event: Erica Ivy Rodgers

Author meet & greet with Tennessee native Erica Ivy Rodgers

Author Event: Erica Ivy Rodgers
Author Event: Erica Ivy Rodgers

Time & Location

Jul 30, 2024, 5:00 PM – 6:00 PM

Plenty Downtown Bookshop, 48 W Broad St, Cookeville, TN 38501, USA

Guests

About the event

We are thrilled to welcome debut author Erica Ivy Rodgers, who will be joining us for Teen Book Club, and then be signing copies of her new release, Lady of Steel and Straw, with us in the bookshop from 5:00 to 6:00. So if you are a teen, come join book club this month and meet the author of the book you read! And for the rest of us, if you like fantasy, romance, some good banter, royal families with issues, and a bit of dark magic, this is not to be missed. ABOUT THE BOOK: Star-crossed lovers grapple with forbidden attraction and a growing army of ghostly dead in this swashbuckling YA fantasy debut. After ten years of exile, following regicide in the House of Tristain, an alarming royal edict is delivered to the immortal scarecrow Guardians who once defended the crown: surrender themselves to the church of the Silent Gods, or stand accused of further treason. But with a puppet prince set to take the throne and vengeful wraiths appearing with alarming frequency, something foul and sinister is at work in the kingdom of Niveaux. Lady Charlotte Sand was born to calm the restless dead. A headstrong heroine, she refuses to relinquish her family’s lavender Guardian to the Cardinal’s Watch—a rash misstep that costs her brother his life and sets her on a path for revenge. For pious and handsome Captain Luc de Montaigne, it’s an excruciating predicament. His long-lost, childhood love has triggered a faction war that could tear the realm asunder. Now Charlotte and Luc must choose between killing one another and stepping closer to victory—or yielding to the electricity between them. Heartily inspired by The Three Musketeers, this multiple-perspective narrative features a unique system of bone and herbal magic, sultry banter, and a feisty cast of well-rounded supporting characters. This rousing first entry in the Waking Hearts fantasy duology is a gorgeous read and an excellent pick for fans of Rin Chupeco and Margaret Rogerson. Series Overview: Waking Hearts is a young adult fantasy duology from debut author Erica Ivy Rodgers. Told in varying points of view, this cleverly constructed narrative follows a girl with a dark gift who partners with an ancestral guardian to defy zealots while defending her heart from a handsome enemy. ABOUT THE AUTHOR: Erica Ivy Rodgers lives in Nashville, Tennessee with her husband, two children, and one very lovable, frenetic pit bull mix. When she isn’t writing or driving kids around, you can usually find her starting another DIY home project in the woods, rock climbing, or beneath an ever-growing pile of bookish quilting fabric.

Share this event

bottom of page