top of page

Thu, Jul 11

|

Plenty Downtown Bookshop

Author Event: Andrew Maraniss

Plenty welcomes Andrew Maraniss, New York Times bestselling author of sports and history-related nonfiction for kids and teens!

Author Event: Andrew Maraniss
Author Event: Andrew Maraniss

Time & Location

Jul 11, 2024, 6:00 PM – 7:00 PM

Plenty Downtown Bookshop, 48 W Broad St, Cookeville, TN 38501, USA

About the event

Plenty is really excited to welcome Andrew Maraniss, an author who writes really wonderulf sports and history-related nonfiction for kids and teens, and is a New York Times bestselling author no less! This is not to be missed, if you have a young person in your life, especially! Copies of several of Andrew's books will be available for signing at this event as well.

Andrew has FOUR recent releases: the 10th Anniversary of Strong Inside: Perry Wallace and the Collision of Race and Sports in the South (a NYT bestseller that became a catalyst for meaningful change and reconciliation), the paperback release of Inagural Ballers, a YA title about the first US Women's Olympic basketball team (just in time for the summer Olympics this year!), and the first two books in a series called Beyond the Game (early chapter books). ABOUT THE BOOK: INAGURAL BALLERS From the New York Times bestselling author of Strong Inside comes the inspirational true story of the birth of women’s Olympic basketball at the 1976 Summer Games and the ragtag team that put US women’s basketball on the map. Perfect for fans of Steve Sheinkin and Daniel James Brown. Twenty years before women’s soccer became an Olympic sport and two decades before the formation of the WNBA, the ’76 US women’s basketball team laid the foundation for the incredible rise of women’s sports in America at the youth, collegiate, Olympic, and professional levels. Though they were unknowns at the time of the ’76 Olympics, the American team included a roster of players who would go on to become some of the most legendary figures in the history of basketball. From Pat Head, Nancy Lieberman, Ann Meyers, Lusia Harris, coach Billie Moore, and beyond—these women took on the world and proved everyone wrong.   Packed with black-and-white photos and thoroughly researched details about the beginnings of US women’s basketball, Inaugural Ballers is the fascinating story of the women who paved the way for girls everywhere. ABOUT THE AUTHOR: New York Times bestselling author Andrew Maraniss writes sports and history-related nonfiction, telling stories with a larger social message. His first book, Strong Inside, received the Lillian Smith Book Award for civil rights and the RFK Book Awards' Special Recognition Prize for social justice, becoming the first sports-related book ever to win either award. His young readers adaptation of Strong Inside was named one of the Top Biographies for Youth by the American Library Association and was named a Notable Social Studies Book by the Children's Book Council. His acclaimed second book for kids Games of Deception was a Sydney Taylor Book Award Middle Grade Honor Recipient, a Junior Library Guild selection, and was praised by authors Steve Sheinkin and Susan Campbell Bartoletti. He is also the author of Singled Out: The True Story of Glenn Burke. Andrew is a contributor to ESPN's sports and race website, TheUndefeated.com, and is a visiting author at the Vanderbilt University Athletic Department.

Share this event

bottom of page