top of page

Thu, Jan 11

|

Plenty Downtown Bookshop

AUTHOR EVENT with Lauren Nossett

bestselling author of dark academia thrillers

Registration is closed
See other events
AUTHOR EVENT with Lauren Nossett
AUTHOR EVENT with Lauren Nossett

Time & Location

Jan 11, 2024, 6:00 PM – 7:00 PM

Plenty Downtown Bookshop, 48 W Broad St, Cookeville, TN 38501, USA

Guests

About the event

This is a staff favorite- we are thrilled to welcome Lauren Nossett to Plenty for the first of hopefully many visits! Lauren will be in conversation with an author who also happens to BE a professor- Erin Hoover, professor at TTU and host of our Sawmill Poetry Series! ABOUT THE BOOK: A gripping campus thriller for fans of Karin Slaughter and Tana French, The Professor investigates the darkest corners of academic life: ambition, lies, and obsession.

On a spring afternoon in Athens, Georgia, Ethan Haddock is discovered in his apartment, dead, apparently by his own hand. His fatality immediately garners media attention: not because his death reflects the troubling increase of depression and mental health issues among college students, but because the media has caught the whiff of a scandal. His professor, Dr. Verena Sobek, has been taken in for questioning, and there are rumors his death is the result of a bad romance. A Title IX investigation is opened, the professor is suspended, and social media crusaders and trolls alike are out for blood. Marlitt Kaplan never investigated love affairs. A former detective turned research assistant, she misses the excitement of her old job, but most of all the friendship of her partner, Teddy. When her mother, a professor at the university and colleague of the accused professor, asks for her help, she finds herself in the impossible position of proving something didn't happen. Without the credentials to interview suspects or access phone records, she will have to get closer to a victim's life than ever before. And she quickly finds herself in his apartment, having dinner with his roommates, even sleeping in his bed. But is she too close to see the truth?  In her relentless pursuit to uncover the mystery behind Ethan’s death, Marlitt will be forced to confront the power structures ingrained in the classroom against the backdrop of a historic campus and an institution that sometimes fails its most vulnerable members.

ABOUT THE AUTHOR:

Lauren Nossett is a professor of German language and literature. Her scholarly work has appeared in journals and edited volumes. She attended the Tin House Summer Writers’ Workshop in 2015 and 2017. She currently lives in Atlanta, Georgia. The Professor is her second novel.

Share this event

bottom of page